1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Basket
  4. Checkout

Cheeses Suitable for Vegetarians

We have an extensive range of cheeses suitable for vegetarians and these are identified by the symbol
Suitable for vegetarians symbol.
Many of our cheese selections and hampers can also be modified to only include cheeses suitable for vegetarians - the symbol
Symbol - modification to only cheeses suitable for vegetarians i spossible. identifies where this is possible.

What makes cheese suitable for Vegetarians

During the making of cheese an enzyme (rennet) is used which causes milk to solidify. Traditionally, this enzyme was found in the stomachs of young calves. The same enzyme is also present in a number of plants, such as thistles, but in very small quantities. Most rennet used today is made in the laboratory. Further information on what is defined as 'cheese suitable for vegetarians' can be obtained from the Vegetarian Society.